#28: A Dog’s Purpose

A Dog's Purpose

A Dog’s Purpose

by W. Bruce Cameron


Finished: March 22, 2015

My Goodreads rating: 5 stars *****

Click here for my review of the sequel to this book, A Dog’s Journey.


This book was so much fun to read. I couldn’t tell you how many times I chuckled to myself while reading it.

Told from the perspective of a dog, this is a book I couldn’t help but fall in love with. Even though the narrator may not focus on the typical things that a human narrator would focus on in telling a story, it still felt genuine and unique enough to be believable.

The dog, Bailey, as he comes to think of himself, is reborn several times in order to fulfill his “purpose” as a dog, which he tries determine throughout his lifetimes. Each life he encounters teaches him something that ends up being an advantage in another lifetime, and each experience gives him a new sense of purpose.

Despite feeling accomplished and like a “good dog,” Bailey continuously finds himself pining for his first real human relationship, to a boy named Ethan. With each rebirth, Bailey remembers his past lives, and Ethan is the one life he is sure his purpose is tied to.

This was one of those fiction books that made me wish animals really could talk or write books. I would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoyed books like Marley and Me and The Art of Racing in the Rain. It’s a heartwarming story of the love and loyalty of dogs and their essential purpose as incomparable friends to humans.

2 thoughts on “#28: A Dog’s Purpose

Leave a comment